
Our picks in this guide
Compare the models in this guide
See today’s price, delivery options and customer reviews on Amazon.
As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.In this article 8 sections
Open the BTMETER BT-100 on Amazon and you can switch between three models: the BT-100, the BT-100APP and the BT-100WM. They look almost the same, but they are different tools. The APP version sends readings to your phone; the WM version adds humidity, dew point, pressure and altitude. Here is the difference, from BTMETER's own manuals and listings, and which one fits what you want to measure.
Short answer: pick the BT-100 for simple wind speed and temperature checks. Pick the BT-100APP if you want readings, logging and export on your phone over Bluetooth, or want to run it from an external power supply. Pick the BT-100WM if you also need humidity, dew point, barometric pressure and altitude, for example for long-range shooting or a portable weather check. All three measure wind speed in the same five units with ±5% accuracy, according to BTMETER.
Editorial Research
- Written by
- Lena Thornton, Weather Station Analyst & CWOP Contributor
- Based on
- BTMETER's instruction manuals for the BT-100, BT-100APP and BT-100WM and their Amazon listings (ASINs B07J64TCBQ, B07JVNYNB3, B07JBW8VPX), read October 22, 2026
- Hands-on testing
- Not performed by The-Weather.com
- Research last verified
- October 22, 2026
This page contains affiliate links: we may earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you.

Side by Side
| Feature | BT-100 | BT-100APP | BT-100WM |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wind speed | 5 units, ±5% (manual) | 5 units, ±5% | 5 units, ±5% |
| MAX / MIN / AVG | Yes, AVG over 15 s | Yes, AVG over 15 s | Yes |
| Temperature | 14-113 °F, ±3.6 °F | 14-113 °F, ±3.6 °F | 14-113 °F; the listing says "+/-2 ℃/℉", which is unclear |
| Wind chill | Symbol below 32 °F | Symbol below 32 °F | Shown as a value in °C or °F |
| Humidity and dew point | No | No | Yes; dew point 32-122 °F; humidity range and accuracy not stated |
| Barometric pressure | No | No | Yes, inHg or hPa/mbar, with calibration; stores 16 readings (one every 2 hours); range not stated |
| Altitude | No | No | 0-19,685 ft (0-6,000 m), calculated from pressure |
| Phone app | No | Yes, "Intelligent Anemometer" for iOS and Android; log and export (.xls, .txt) | Not mentioned |
| Auto power off | Listed, no time given | Adjustable; set to 0 to stay on | After 10 minutes (listing); not in barometer mode (manual) |
| External power | Not mentioned | Power input on the right side, for an adapter below 12 V; adapter not in the box list | Not mentioned |
| Tripod hole | Yes, 1/4 inch | Yes, 1/4 inch | Yes |
| In the box | Meter, 2 AAA, neck strap, carry bag, manual | Meter, lanyard, small screwdriver, carrying case, 2 AAA, manual (BTMETER's FAQ) | Manual listed; rest not specified |
From BTMETER's manuals, listings and FAQ answers on those listings. One BT-100 listing bullet claims ±2% wind accuracy, but its manual, its spec box and the other two listings say ±5%. "Not mentioned" or "not stated" means neither the manual nor the listing describes it.
BT-100: The Simple One
Six buttons, wind speed and temperature, MAX/MIN and a 15-second average. Good for a quick check of an air vent, a drone or kite session, or a windy day. Everything about it: BT-100 review and BT-100 manual.
BT-100APP: Readings on Your Phone
Same meter, plus Bluetooth. According to the BT-100APP manual, you install the app by scanning the QR code in the manual, switch the meter on, turn on Bluetooth on your phone, and a green light shows when they are paired; then you press start in the app. BTMETER's FAQ names the app "Intelligent Anemometer" (iOS and Android only) and says data can be exported as .xls or .txt. Two practical extras: the auto power off time is adjustable (0 means it stays on), and there is a power input for an adapter below 12 V (our view: handy for long sessions on a tripod). The adapter is not in the box list, so you supply your own.
Check before you buy: the app only runs on iOS and Android phones and tablets, and all data goes through it; BTMETER says exported files go from the phone to a computer.
BT-100WM: A Small Weather Meter
The WM version is the one to pick when wind is only part of the picture. Besides wind speed and temperature, it shows relative humidity, dew point, wind chill, barometric pressure and altitude. You can calibrate the pressure to your local reading, and it stores 16 pressure readings taken every 2 hours, so you can see the trend over about 30 hours (our arithmetic).
Altitude moves with the weather: the WM calculates altitude from air pressure. The manual warns that changes in air density caused by the weather lead to a different altitude reading at the same spot, so recalibrate the pressure to your local reading before you rely on it. BTMETER gives no range or accuracy for humidity. It has no ballistics or density-altitude features; for long-range shooting with built-in ballistics, see our Kestrel 5700 Elite review. Our barometric pressure converter explains inHg and hPa.
Which One Should You Buy?
- You only check wind or air vents now and then: the BT-100. Nothing to pair, nothing to calibrate. For airflow, see how to measure CFM.
- You want a record of readings, or measure for longer on a tripod: the BT-100APP. Logging and export run through the phone app, and the external power input saves batteries.
- Humidity, dew point, pressure or altitude matter too (hiking, weather watching, basic shooting): the BT-100WM. It has no ballistics; for that, see the Kestrel 5700 Elite.
All three share the same wind speed range and ±5% margin, so pick on features, not on accuracy.
BT-100 Versions FAQ
What is the difference between the BT-100 and BT-100APP?
The BT-100APP adds Bluetooth: readings, logging and export on an iOS or Android app. It also has an adjustable auto power off and a power input for an adapter below 12 V. Wind and temperature measurement are the same.
What does the BT-100WM measure?
Wind speed, temperature, relative humidity, dew point, wind chill, barometric pressure and altitude. It stores 16 pressure readings, one every 2 hours.
Are all BT-100 versions equally accurate?
BTMETER gives ±5% of the reading for wind speed in the manuals and in all three listings' main specs; only one bullet on the basic BT-100 listing says ±2%.
Does the BT-100WM have an app?
Neither its manual nor its listing mentions an app. The Bluetooth app version is the BT-100APP.
Update Log
- October 22, 2026: First version, based on BTMETER's three manuals and listings.
Sources
- BTMETER: BT-100 instruction manual (PDF)
- BTMETER: BT-100APP instruction manual (PDF)
- BTMETER: BT-100WM instruction manual (PDF)
- Amazon listings for the BT-100 (B07J64TCBQ), BT-100APP (B07JVNYNB3) and BT-100WM (B07JBW8VPX), read October 22, 2026
Ready to decide?
Find your pick on Amazon
Prices and stock change daily. Check the current price, delivery options and what owners say in their reviews.

Our top picksCompare our picks on AmazonToday's price, delivery & owner reviews on Amazon
Check on Amazon →


